Executive Board (2016 - 2018)

The ESPD Executive Board can be contacted through the ESPD Office.

Regina Fölster-Holst


University Medical Center Schleswig-Holstein; Campus Kiel 
Dept. of Dermatology 
Schittenhelmstr. 7 
24105 Kiel 
Dr. Regina Fölster-Holst is Professor at the Department for Dermatology, Venereology and Allergology at the Universitätsklinikum Schleswig-Holstein, Campus Kiel, Germany. She obtained her medical degree at the Christian-Albrechts-Universität, Kiel and is board certified in dermatology and allergology. She is a member of the German Dermatology Association (DDG), where she leads the Society of Pediatric Dermatology. She is executive board member of the European Society of Pediatric Dermatology (ESPD), a member of the Institute for Medical and Pharmaceutical Examination (IMPP) and engaged in the occupational union of the German Dermatologists e.V. (BVDD).
Her scientific focuses are paediatric dermatology, allergic diseases and parasitoses, whereas the main trust of her research is in atopic dermatitis, with special research expertise in immunological and biochemical activity markers, prognostic criteria, epidemiological researches and new therapeutical strategies.
Prof. Dr. Regina Fölster-Holst has received numerous awards, such as the Hans-Karrer-Förderpreis (medical brochure for children) in 1997, the “Preis der Hensel Stiftung” (1998), theTeaching Award of the Medical Faculty of Kiel (2003), the German scientific award for communication and the Perle-Award.

Christine Bodemer


Necker Enfants-Malades Hospital
Department of Dermatology
University Paris-Descart
149 Rue de Sèvres
75015 Paris
Professor Christine Bodemer (MD, PhD) is the head of the Department of Dermatology at the Necker Enfants-Malades Hospital, Paris, France.  
She obtained her medical degree at the University Paris VI and is board certified in Dermatology.
She received her PhD on Cutaneous Biology in 1997 (University Paris XI), a qualification to direct Research in 2000 (Paris V), and she is Professor in Dermatology at the Paris Descartes-Sorbonne Paris Cité University since 2001. She is regularly invited to give lecture in international congresses and is more particularly specialized in Pediatric dermatology. She received regular grants to lead research programs.
One of her main field of interest concerns rare skin disorders in children and she coordinates a national reference centre for rare pediatric skin diseases (mostly Genodermatoses) (MAGEC) and the French national network (FIMARAD) She coordinates also and European network (ERN-SKIN) for rare skin diseases (ERN-Skin). She is a member of many scientific societies, associated editor of different journal, as the British Journal of Dermatology, and she has been the general secretary of the French Society of Dermatology. She is actually the president of the French Society of Pediatric Dermatology, the president of the Genodermatoses Network of the Foundation René Touraine and the Secretary General of the European Society of Pediatric Dermatology (ESPD). She took part in the organization of the World Congress of Pediatric Dermatology in Paris and organized recently the 13th ESPD Congress (Paris, 2016). She developed regular international training supported by European Grants. 

Stephanie Christen-Zäch


Children’s Hospital - Lausanne University
Departments of Pediatrics and Dermatology
Pediatric Dermatology Unit
Montétan 16
1000 Lausanne 7

Stephanie Christen-Zäch is Assistant Professor and head of the pediatric dermatology unit at the departments of dermatology and pediatrics at the University Hospital Lausanne. She received her medical degree from Basel University, followed by a residency in dermatology and venereology at the University of Basel and Lausanne.
She is a board certified dermatologist and performed a fellowship in dermatopathology at the Harvard Medical School with Philippe McKee. For three years she was a fellow in pediatric dermatology at the Children’s Memorial Hospital, Chicago with Amy Paller and Anthony Mancini and graduated at the Northwestern University in the field of Clinical and Translational Research.
She received diverse awards and numerous research grants. She is currently Treasurer of the ESPD, an active member of the European task force on atopic dermatitis, the Swiss Group for Vascular Anomalies in Children, the Northwestern University Clinical and the Translational Sciences Institute (NUCATS), as well as past President of the Swiss group for pediatric dermatology. Her translational research focus is on atopic dermatitis. 

Daniel Hohl

Immediate Past President

CHUV (Le Centre universitaire hospitalier vaudois) 
Hôpital de Beaumont - Dept. of Dermatology
Av. de Beaumont 29
CH-1011 Lausanne
Prof. Dr. Daniel Hohl trained at the University of Zurich and its Dermatology Clinics and during three years at NCI, NIH in Bethesda, Maryland and at Baylor College in Houston, Texas. He was invited professor at ETHZ from 2000 to 2005 and spent a sabbatical at the Hopitaux Necker and St. Louis in Paris in 2013. Dr. Hohl has served in diverse international societies, and is currently President of the ESPD and of the MD-PhD Commission at UNIL-EPFL in Lausanne. Recipient of diverse awards and author of highly ranked scientific publications, Dr. Hohl is also Honorary Member of the French and Serbian Societies of Dermatology and Ordinary Professor for Dermatopathology and Dermatogenetics at the Faculty of Biology and Medicine at the University of Lausanne, Switzerland.
Mission Statement: “My basic aim is to promote at best the interests of the ESPD and to serve the ESPD and its members. I am proud to assist this European collaboration and to boost its interactions necessary for the development of the clinical and scientific quality within the framework of the ESPD. Together we can provide excellence in patient care through research!
As the past president of the ESPD I will still apply objective measures, strict democratic rules and full transparency, such as I am used to it in my functions as a member of the Executive Board of the SSDV, a member of the EADV Board of Directors as well as a President of the MD-PhD Commission at UNIL-EPFL in Lausanne.”